Welcome to the IBMA Chuck Pezzano Scholarship

If you are a High School Senior or College Student who may be interested in a part– or full-time career writing about the sport of bowling click HERE for the full criteria and eligibility for the Scholarship Award.

For more information contact Steve Lawson, IBMA Operations Manager, at


Donate Today!

Wisconsin High School Student Earns 2023 Chuck Pezzano Scholarship

Braden Mallasch, a four-year member of the Waupaca (Wisconsin) High School bowling team and 2023 Wisconsin state singles champion, has been selected as the 2023 winner of the International Bowling Media Association's Chuck Pezzano Media Scholarship. 

The 18-year-old, who graduated in June with a 3.88 grade point average, is scheduled to attend Wichita State University this fall. He will receive a $3,000 scholarship and a one-year membership to the IBMA.

Mallasch is heavily involved in social media including producing his "Out of the Cut Bowling" YouTube channel which he also features on Instagram and TikTok, plus promotional videos for the Wisconsin Youth Bowlers Tour. He plans to major in video and media production at Wichita State. Before that, he will compete in the United States Bowling Congress Junior Gold Tournament and the Teen Masters. 

"It means a lot because I know I'm going to Wichita State," Mallasch said. "It's a big step to go to Wichita and to be supported by any scholarships I can get is really fantastic. It helps me ensure I am making the right decision to go there and pursue something further in media and bowling."

Besides his high school team, Mallasch has competed in youth leagues and tournaments and even against adults. 

In addition to bowling, Mallasch was a member of the school's band, student council, and curling club for all four years, the social media club for two years, and theater for one year. He is a three-time member of the National Honor Society. 

He has helped community groups including the Community Theater and Children's Community Theater with media production. Since the second semester of his junior year, he has been paid to create media content across social media platforms and resources for his school. 

The Pezzano scholarship, worth up to $5,000, is presented by the Billiard and Bowling Institute of America. It is named in memory of IBMA, United States Bowling Congress and Professional Bowlers Association Hall of Fame journalist Chuck Pezzano. It is awarded to students attending college or graduating high school seniors planning to attend college.

Braden Mallasch

Pezzano Scholarship Winners

2023 - Braden Mallasch, Waupaca, WI
2022 - Zachary Budd, Simpsonville, KY
2021 - None Awarded
2020 - Vianne Daniels, Bremerton, WA
2019 - Marianna (Mari) Pizzini, Souix City, IA
2018 - Chase Kaufman, Swartz Creek, MI
2017 - James (Jimmy) J. Sullivan, Dumont, New Jersey
2016 - None Awarded
2015 - Darian Miller, Slidell, LA
2014 - None Awarded
2013 - Ben Breuner,Kentfield, CA, Melissa Sobolik, Marian, IA, Matthew Perry, Shelton, CT
2012 - Stephanie Sims, Garland, TX; Blair Blumenscheid, Columbus, OH; Samantha Chong, San Jose, CA
2011 - Matthew Perry, Shelton, CT; Kenny Martin, Pacifica, CA; Phillip Brylow, Waukesha, WI
2010 - Lydia Rypcinski, Chicago, IL; Blair Blumenscheid, Ohio; Ryan Miller, Machensey Park, IL
2009 – Thomas Madrecki , Northbrook, IL, Heather D'Errico, Rochester, NY, Ryan Yadao, Las Vegas, NV, Michelle Todisco, West Chester, PA
2008– Thomas Madrecki, Northbrook, IL and Liz Sautter. Sunnyvale, CA
2007 – James Buonaiuto, Queens, NY and Patricia Pringle, Antioch, IL
2006 – Michael Menera, Tampa, FL and Justine Fields, Roslyn Heights, NY
2005 – Grant Engels, Hollywood, FL and Amanda Pezzano, Hawthorne, NJ
2004 – Amanda Reyes, Henderson, NV
2003 – Marc D’Errico, Rochester, NY and Amanda Pezzano, Hawthorne, NJ
2002 – Marc D’Errico, Rochester, NY
2001 – Melissa (Missy) Bellinder, Fullerton, CA
2000 – Jimmy Wulf, Albuquerque, NM and Shauna Van Meter, Albuquerque, NM